5 Reasons to be Thankful for Being Single

It’s a beautiful thing to arrive at a place where you are happy to be single.  In a conversation with one of my best single girlfriends recently, we were discussing dating in general and she commented how she hated being single.  I disagreed.  While I don’t necessarily want single to be a permanent state, I have achieved a level of independence and emotional freedom that I will definitely have a difficult time giving up – if the time ever comes.  Even as I shoveled the driveway and pushed the big trash bins to the curb today, I thought how good it would be to have a man to do those things, but then I remembered the many reasons I am thankful for being single.

So in honor of the holiday tradition, here are the top five reasons single women should be thankful:

No snoring.  This was a text I got from a friend a few nights ago.  Damn, I do not miss having to listen to that nasty gagging sound from the person sleeping next to me.  However, it is always great to be able to give them a good hard kick so they roll over and give you some peace and quiet – even if just for a few minutes.  But it’s only a matter of time before they start snoring again.

snoring

No sharing the bed. While a man’s warm body is great as a defroster for your cold feet, it is not a good enough reason to have to share the bed.  I can lay vertical, horizontal, upside down, kick, flail, covers on, covers off.  It’s the greatest thing.  Or if I want to fall asleep on the couch, I don’t have some annoying voice questioning why I didn’t come to bed last night (because I couldn’t stand the sound of your snoring anymore!). But the best part, you don’t have anyone trying to grab you and rub their morning wood against your back in an attempt to wake you from your peaceful sleep to please them.

Grooming.  Men don’t realize how much effort it takes for a woman to groom herself.  We are supposed to always be soft, smell good, never sweat, and have no hair except on top of our head.  To my married and semi-married friends who let the hair on their legs grow two inches long in the winter and say their husband/boyfriend doesn’t care, I always say, “Trust me, they do.”  Being single, I don’t have to care.  If I don’t want to shave or wax any part of my body for two months, I don’t have to.  If I want to sit in my sweatpants and not shower all weekend, I can do so.  I can look like shit at will and not have to care.

Emotional freedom. Does he like me or not?  Why hasn’t he texted or called me in three days?  What did he mean by that?  Why hasn’t he asked me out again?  Those questions are just dating headaches.  When you’re married or in a relationship, those headaches become even tougher because you have greater expectations.  This is what I mean by emotional freedom.  You don’t have to sit and dwell on what the other person said, what they meant by it, or why they haven’t done something.  You have nobody to argue with, nobody to please, nobody to disrespect you and/or your time.  I only have myself to yell at for leaving dirty dishes in the sink or five pairs of shoes at the door.  It’s the greatest freedom in the world.

Independence. This is by far the most invaluable reason to be thankful for being single.  Especially when I hear a non-single friend say they have to check to see if it’s okay if they go out.  SCREW THAT!  I have become so use to doing what I want, when I want and with whom I want that the thought of having to get another person’s “approval” to go out with my friends seems so unrealistic to me.  Single may end up being a permanent state after all.

So for these reasons, and many more, I am thankful for being single.  Happy Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “5 Reasons to be Thankful for Being Single

Leave a Reply

