The First Cardinal Rule of Dating for Women

There are many rules of dating, but there is one cardinal rule for women.  The supreme, almighty, foremost rule of all.  The rule you must never break if you want to be taken seriously.  My unscientific poll of random guys I know confirms it.  NEVER EVER sleep with him on the first date.

My survey was taken among men, ages 30 to 45.  I wanted to make sure I covered the entire spectrum.  Here are the responses ladies, straight from the mouth of man.

Man 1:  Super hot 30 year old professional (my new fake boyfriend, BTW)

“A little dating advice: NEVER sleep with a guy on the first date.  If a girl sleeps with me on the first date, all I think of is how many other guys she has slept with on the first date.”

Man 2: 34 year old business owner

“At least five dates if you want real respect.  If you sleep with them on the first date, expect it to be nothing more than a sexual relationship.  But you have to bait a little as some guys are impatient.”

Man 3: 40 year old IT technician

“I think at my age, it doesn’t really matter how many dates as long as there is a connection.  But definitely NOT the first.”

Man 4:  45 year old sales exec

“Three dates minimum, maybe four.  If you go out on four dates and she doesn’t put out, yet you still want to see her, you know it’s real interest in her and not just her vagina.”

There you go.  Yet, so many women break this cardinal rule, and then get pissed off when the guy bails, and they don’t get asked out on a second date.  Or as Man 2 says, it just becomes a sexual relationship.  If you are ready to just accept a casual sexual relationship, then all the power to you.  Some women can do it without regret.  Call me a prude, but I just don’t have it in me to do it.  The bottom line is women are emotional creatures, and for the majority of us, there has to be a mental connection to truly have an awesome physical connection.

The bottom line for me these days: Men use love to get sex.  Women use sex to get love.  I use coupons to get pizza.

coupons pizza

7 thoughts on “The First Cardinal Rule of Dating for Women

  1. I stopped using okc a few weeks ago after one too many awkward dates lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

  2. I use coupons but alas my latest place has none, now what? I don’t know about the rest of single-dom but this time around I am going to make “better” mistakes. Let us just say, I have tried it a variety of ways before marriage and now after divorce I believe in the cardinal rule and gluten free crust.

Leave a Reply

